Wimbledon: The tennis grunt

30 Jun

This article can now be found at http://wp.me/p2yoGs-e1.

6 Responses to “Wimbledon: The tennis grunt”

  1. TOM OBACH June 30, 2011 at 6:07 PM #

    Grunting helps. and we can identify those players who grunts like you mentioned. But i guess If you already knew that a player grunts since day 1, then I think you can handle that level of decibels already. Maybe the one who complains are in a way loosing the match. Sharapova grunt is a habit , and all the WTA players in a bizarre manner are already used to it, that they may complain if maria does not grunts anymore.

  2. schroeds June 30, 2011 at 8:34 PM #

    A few of the responses I have gotten via Twitter about the article –

    @SuQ10
    I often wonder if the grunt could be used to the opponent’s advantage, as far as timing is concerned, or is that silly idea?

    @TrammerHC
    It doesn’t bother me, and I don’t think it honestly bothers anyone. Just something to talk about. Ppl are fickle.

    @stacymendrick
    I disagree. You can exhale w/o engaging your vocal chords. That’s a sham excuse. It’s a form of intimidation, pure and simple. Length and pitch change. It’s horrible. I’d be on the other side making ‘mocking’ grunting sounds.. can u draw the line?? Nope. I’m just surprised someone hasn’t done it already. u can’t tell one to stop making noise & not the other. See where this can go? I want to talk forehands etc.. but w/ the mute button on.. I can’t learn anything from the announcers. 😉 I disagree with you, but your article is very good.

  3. Chris Ross June 30, 2011 at 8:44 PM #

    Totally agree. What do you think of my post about grunting.

  4. sportsglutton July 1, 2011 at 12:35 AM #

    Great article Mr. Schroeds and I’ll be sure to check out all your Wimbledon articles when I have a chance.

    Cheers!

    Sportsglutton

    • schroeds July 1, 2011 at 12:56 AM #

      Miss 🙂

      Thanks, would love your opinion on some of my other entries. Checked out your blog too – particularly like the variety!

      • sportsglutton July 1, 2011 at 1:25 AM #

        Oops… entschuldigt mich 🙂 ….of course now I’m assuming your know German.

        I’ll be sure to drop you at least one comment on your other articles. Also thanks for checking out my blog and the kind words. I’m just trying to keep a “balanced” glutton lifestyle (whatever that means).

        Cheers!

Leave a Reply

