To Blog or Not To Blog.

17 May

Well here I am, and the blog title that sounded very “I’m-well-versed-in-literature” 30 seconds ago is redundant, since clearly the decision To Blog has already been made. Since this is my first time, (Do bloggers refer to it as losing your blog virginity?) I figured I might tell the world out there a little bit about myself, and this eponymous blog.

I am a 3rd year student at the University of Stellenbosch. It is probably not the best university in the world, not even in the country, but as a student, this is the most magnificent town to live in. Not only is the town and surrounding areas beautiful, there are also vineyards, and wine estates in every direction out-of-town. The central part of Stellenbosch consists of campus, student housing and businesses that cater almost exclusively to students. I have loved every moment here in the sheltered bubble that Stellenbosch is. It is likely that I will write about being a student quite a bit, I will also touch on some of the campus politics, and the challenges facing Stellenbosch students.

While here, I have been studying towards a degree in science. Whether I want to enter the industry that my degree is preparing for, is a question I am not yet ready to answer. This blog is also about investigating the career options which some of my other interests and hobbies provide. I will attempt to stay true to these interest in the blog, so expect world news, politics, the world of journalism and professional sports to feature.

I will not try to provide a play-by-play of what is happening in each of these sectors – CNN is sure to continually 1 up me – but rather to write relevant discussion pieces. I hope you will keep reading.

Schroeds.

4 Responses to “To Blog or Not To Blog.”

  1. Omair May 17, 2011 at 3:50 PM #

    Hey! well nice first blog. the topic is good. there is not much to comment on. looking forward to your blogs.
    All the best.

    • schroeds May 17, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

      Thanks Omair, I hope to write about a variety of topics, hopefully a few of them will have you keep coming back! I plan on doing an assessment of the draw fo the French on Friday 🙂 S

      • Omair May 19, 2011 at 4:06 PM #

        It would be great to see the assessment of the FO draw and also articles on various topics. best of luck…

  2. Amit Pradhan May 26, 2011 at 4:01 PM #

    Well, the articles are very nice to read and seems to be very mature writing especially on the subject matter. Keep writing more stuff as the tournament reaches the distance…..

Leave a Reply

